Current mood: disappointed
Yesterday was a crap day. It was a total crap day. We have been on the go, almost non-stop since we put the house on the market on the 12th of September. Sure, we've watched TV a time or two or sat around in our jammies for a while, but otherwise, we've been cleaning, packing, painting, cleaning, footballing, cheerleading, schooling, cleaning, and ummm- cleaning.
Last weekend was our first open house. It was attended by one couple who expressed interest in the house and asked to meet with the Realtor who administered the open house regarding our house. Our Realtor was tied up at another open house (which, incidentally, went completely unattended. I have been assured that is the norm these days. Peeps just ain't lookin'.) so she had another person from her office handle ours. He was to represent the buying couple. Apparently they just aren't buying ours. Maybe they will, but I refuse to go crazy over it because I can't control it.
Yesterday, crap day, we didn't even go to church. We stayed home, Amanda and I slept late, we did laundry (which was laid out in the spare room and the halls by load), we cooked, we played checkers and backgammon and chess all day, we cleaned the kitchen and that was about it. Until the freaking doorbell rang. There was a Realtor and a couple who wanted to see the house. Ummm, I told her no.
See, our MLS information states clearly that the showing Realtor is to call the homeowner (that would be me) an hour prior to arrival. My phone never rang. NEVAH. I thought that since no one had called, we were safe to be lazy and slovenly. Shah, not.
So, I said no and then called my Realtor. She called me back and said that she clearly told the showing Realtor to call us before they came. She also told me I was completely right to tell them they could not see the house. Somehow, I feel like we may have lost out since we've had A whopping couple see the house in the last three weeks.
Also, while speaking to Gina (our Realtor), she told me she had two other couples she intended to show the house to next week. Yay. Let us hope and pray that something comes of this.
There are many reasons for this. See, I miss my man. I could go into it, but there's no sense in making everyone sad along with me. Let's just say this (skip it if you've heard me say it before), this is harder than any deployment because there is no arguing or second-guessing a deployment. They go. That's that. They just have to go. So they do. This was a choice for us. I don't want to regret the choice made primarily by me and agreed upon by him. Selling will be the first next step in my getting us there.
Also, we have two abodes. Two sets of bills. Two sets of operating expenses. It was OK for a while, but it ain't now. This crappy economy and the gas prices of the last eight months and all the travel costs have all but killed us. Selling will cut our family living expenses substantially, give us enough to seriously work on our ever-growing bills and put some in something for the kids' educations. There was a reasonable something there before. There isn't now. There are lots of reasons, but our economic nose-dive is a factor. Big factor. FREAKING HUGE. But, now we have to figure out what kind of something we inted on trusting this time around. Trust is interesting.
So, since yesterday at about 4:00, I've been upset. I have cried. Actually, I've sobbed until I nearly puked, but who's noticing. I keep wondering if this was THE client to buy this house. I have got to sell this thing. I have doubted my choice to take a real mental health day for the kids and I and wished I had just gotten up at 7:30 to get ready for church and cleaned. But, at the end of the day (just prior to the ringing of the doorbell), I felt really good. I took a greedy me day and did stuff that only serves the three of us. I even got a real jump on three nights' dinners. And it got squashed. Return to Crapville.
I know this house will sell. I know there is a buyer out there. I know I do everything I can as much as possible to facilitate that buyer who will buy this place. But, am I not allowed to take care of us at the same time?
I really want to unfurl a litany of bad words.
And I'd like to cry some more.
Currently listening : Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind By Linda Ronstadt Release date: 1989-09-25
Monday, October 6, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment