Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Wrap Rap

Current mood: Wrapped up

That time has come. We must make our Christmas presents pretty for under the tree. Have I mentioned before that sometimes I really hate wrapping? Sometimes I think it is very fun. Other times I develop PTSD.

When I was about my daughter's age, 15, my mother was working full-time and hated having to wrap gifts. So, she came up with a solution. I was very good at wrapping gifts. I was great at wrapping gifts AND I liked doing it. I was pretty anal about how they were to look and how they would be placed and one year, I wrapped everything under the tree which was being given from someone in our house to someone in our house. Yes, even my own stuff- the stuff being given to me. She would secure it in a box and then I would wrap the box. I wrapped a lotta crap. And, the tradition continued for about three years or so, as best I remember.

I was young. I had fun. I enjoyed it. I was stupid.

So now, here I sit at home, procrastinating the baking I need to do for the kids' activities, procrastinating the presents I really need to wrap. I did about six or seven yesterday. Sure, that's not that much, but I am sick of it already.

Just. Don't. Want. To. Wrap.

Last year, I devised a plan to throw off the snoops. I drew a shape on the bottom of each gift which designated who would be receiving said gift. I thought I was clever, until several of the gifts were unwrapped in some fashion. I about blew my top, but they're kids and that's what they do.

This year, I think we are snoop proof. First, no gift is being wrapped in its true form. It is being boxed. No matter what, no matter how simple the container containing the gift, it will be contained yet again in another box to disguise the orginal packaging. Some of those items, prior to being contained in containers, are being wrapped in newspaper first and sealed with box tape. Yes, I said it, box tape and newspaper. It makes for ugly fingerprints, but ain't nobody knowing what they gettin' til they get. Once contained in different containers, they are being sealed with box tape. I went through almost a roll on the seven I did yesterday. Snoop now, Snoopy McSnoopersons!

The final step is the wrapping paper. They are being wrapped just as any other traditional present would be wrapped in commercial wrapping paper from the store. Some is new, some is old and they are coded. They are not marked, there are no name tags, but they are marked and I dare them to decode my system! They tried really hard yesterday when they came home from school. They failed and failed miserably! They tried everything- animals for one, trees for the other, shapes, bow color, shiny vs. matte finish bows, two-tone bows, living things, non-living things, box shape, box size. Haha! They don't know.

Oh, I also threw in this little tidbit- any package with damaged wrapping paper from the Snooptastics will be unwrapped and returned to the store for a full cash refund and the refunded cash will be used by me on me and no one else. It will be a charitable contribution to the Me Fund. I like it, don't you?

So, let's see if this works. I will not eventually be posting the code I used. I may need to recycle
it for future years.

Currently listening : Under Wraps By Jethro Tull Release date: 2005-04-26

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

What the?

Current mood: confused

I headed out this morning on errands. You know, the usual stuff- bill paying, stuff to use while making holiday goodies for every class my kids ever had, getting gas, the quest for Skinny Christmas fabulosity (thanks, Kimora). I took the kids to school, Andre too, went to the bank to deposit a check, ran to the gas station for a quick drop of gas to do me until I got to post (where gas is .03 cheaper than anywhere else in town, .06 if you use your Star card), popped my debit card in, pulled it out, entered my PIN, got $4 worth and headed to the far east side. I got done there, went to the central area, got done there, hit post, got gas with the Star card, made one more stop and then went to WalMart.

At WalMart I just needed a few things. I had three gift cards in my wallet, each with a few cents on them. I think their collective total was somewhere around $2.20. So, I only needed to put about $9.00 or so on my debit card. When I got to the cashier and started digging in my purse for it, I couldn't find it. Yes, it has a place to live in my wallet, but when I am in go-mode, I just go and worry about precision later.

Stupid move.

I took almost everything out of my purse and eventually gave the dude a check. I haven't written a check in a store for around two or three years, but I had to today. I kept looking as I left the store and tore the truck apart looking for the stupid thing. No luck. I didn't find it anywhere.

I called the bank on the way home to cancel it and order a new one, but this is a heck of a week to be without a debit card. Grr. Jeeze man, could I be more stupid? The lady at the bank I spoke with was very nice about the whole thing and went through what I had spent this morning to ensure that there were no fraudulent charges, but CRAP! I hate when stuff like this happens.
Now I am at home sulking and making dog food.

CRAP!!!

Currently listening : Lost in the Sound of Separation By Underoath Release date: 2008-09-02

Monday, December 15, 2008

Blah-dee-blah blah!

Current mood: blah

Busy, busy, busy!

Yes, Christmas is next week and the kids are driving me absolutely insane about it. We are having Christmas, but as I keep reminding them, this will be a skinny Christmas. We just can't do it in the same grand fashion as has been our tradition since forever. Skinny or not, I think they'll be at least part-way satisfied.

Yes, still no buyer. I went to transportation this morning for the briefing and they put our move on "hold" status. Great. Just like everything else from marital relations to selling the house to everyfargingthing, "hold." I am sure it could be worse, so no need to remind me. Blessings do abound, but I am blogging (i.e.-venting), so I get it out and then I move on. Or at least that's the plan. I will add, however, that I am just about ready to start acosting peeps at the grocery store asking them, "Do you want to buy a big, cheap house?" Surely, someone somewhere wants to buy a big, cheap house.

It seems that the teenaged drama has faded a bit. Taking the bull, or some other entity of your choosing, by the horns has been effective. Well, at least for now it has been. I'll keep you posted.

Travis will be here by this time next week. He is leaving SC Saturday morning. He is driving straight through. He said he doesn't want to stop at a hotel. He's just going to take breaks at rest stops and nap if he needs it. I hope he stops and naps. Dear Lord, please make him stop and nap. Please. Amen.

I have been in a non-Christmas mood. I am not even sure we should put out our gifts, since there is always a possibility that someone could stop by to see the house. No, not a probability, but an absolute possibility. The experts (yes, the ones who told us to wait until fall to list our house) say that we shouldn't leave any valuables out. Do Christmas gifts count? How bad will it suck for my kids to see nothing under the tree until Christmas. Depressing, if you ask me. Whatcha think?

So, along those lines, how do we keep the Snooptastics from snooping? Last year there were a large number of presents which had been unwrapped and clumsily (and crappily) re-wrapped, if they even bothered to cover the snoopage up. I've grown quite accustomed to the newest reply in my house, "I don't know. It wasn't me." I really hate that phrase. This year, I have a couple of new techniques. I will not list them here as news tends to travel fast. However, one could depend on the use of shipping tape and sealed seams, among other things. I love a challenge. I will be triumphant. If not, no gifts go out until Christmas morning. Still, depressing, wouldn't you agree?

I am sitting here in my room quietly sneaking Pepperidge Farms cookies while one of the kids is sleeping (or at least he better be faking it real, real good) and the other is watching TV. I never used to use the TV as a babysitter when the kids were little, but now that they're older, I just turn it on and they leave me alone for a while. Until they get hungry or have some tragic dilema I have to solve. Pepperidge Farms makes cookies just for me (you knew that, right?). I got lucky, they didn't hear me unwrapping the celophane from the inner box. Normally celophane crinkling is to my kids as the triangle bell clanging is to cowboys needing chow. Ms. Austin, Mrs. Bryan, Mrs. Wheatley and Mr. Krznarich taught me how to use similies correctly. Thanks gang!

So, I am sleepy, but not sleepy enough to go to bed. I am thirsty, but there is no ice in the house right now and the thought of drinking something which is not frosty cold is ick-nasty to me. So, I guess I am not thirsty enough to either drink it warm or go get ice. I am cold, but not cold enough to turn up the heater (because that would mean I would need to turn down my finances next month). I am cranky. I am nervous. I am stressed. I am eating cookies quietly in my room. I don't have any clean jeans for tomorrow.

Hmph. I guess I'll just go play Mafia Wars.

Currently listening : Sesame Street - Cookie Monster's Best Bites Release date: 2004-01-27

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Miscellaneousosity

Current mood: lazy

It snowed today. Well, it was a snow/ice/rain mix, but it snowed nonetheless. It was cold and blustery and damp and brrr! and it made me not want to do anyfrigginthing except lay under the covers. I only did that for about a half an hour. I forced myself to be a member of the living, sorta. I wanted a fire in the fireplace, but that would mean I would have to have some firewood, which I have purposely not purchased to this point, and I would have to not be in my bedroom, which I have come to flipping love. Ultimately, the fire wasn't worth either effort.

I am planning the menu for the next three days. Cody and Cindy are coming and bringing the babies. I am excited! He has a race in Alamogordo Saturday so they are coming early to visit us. I am looking forward to their being here, but have no idea how I should entertain them.

Travis is at Ft. Lee for his Platoon Sergeant course. I think he blew out his shoulder. Apparently it is a pretty common injury amongst the Soldierly types. Great. So, Kelly's husband just had a shoulder surgery in Qatar, while deployed (nope, didn't send him home). Travis' former First Sergeant had a shoulder surgery a while back. I have no idea if they had the same procedure. Big Tommy was convalescing for a couple of weeks, maybe? I don't know how long Mark took off. I know better than to hope, but it would be grand if they would send him here to have surgery and convalesce... Nope, not even gonna hope for it. He'll be home in a little over two weeks and that is going to have to be enough.

The house is still on the market. I could lament. I will not. I have a Transportation briefing Monday. Technically (because the convoluted Army system required it) I have pack-out dates of the 22nd and 23rd and pick-up on the 26th. If I schedule them too far out, then we can't move the dates up. But, we can always call and delay the stuff, so delay we will! However, there is an Army family interested in seeing the house and looking for a fast close once they get the ball rolling. There's more to it, but if they wanna close quick, we gonna close quick. I need to get the hell outta here.

The teenaged drama continues. I could go into it, but I wont, at least not too much. At this point. It has gotten even deeper and worse since the last time I spoke of it (really, since I last spoke of it at like, 9 this morning). We are talking stalker-crazy. Seriously. One more and I take it to the school admin. I don't know if she'll read this or not or if she reads at all, or if anyone else does. But, it will stop soon.

Wrestling has begun. Just as I hoped it wouldn't be, it is. Amanda didn't wrestle on Saturday becuase there was no one in her division and class so she scored an automatic win, medal and all. Nolan's bracket was seriously competetive. He lost both his matches and it sucked for him. As much as I am trying to teach them about being good winners, I am having to teach them about being good losers too. Sometimes gracious doesn't happen all that easily with either outcome. It was an odd drive home.

The 15th birthday party was Saturday night. It was a bumpy start, thanks to wrestling. That's a long story, but suffice it to say that I have good friends. Good enough to come sit at my house and welcome teenagers in when I am not yet home. Thank you. The kids were awesome AND I had enough food and drink and no one was hungry or cranky and as every mother can tell you, not hungry kids makes for not cranky kids so it was a great start to a fun night. Low key, enjoyable for all, including the little brother, with very little pouting on the big sister front. Yay us!

Amanda saw a doc last week for her wrist pain. Doc is worried about ligament damage and the possibility of nerve damage. Joy. Ice, brace, wrapping and physical therapy to start soon. The repetetive motion and position of violin, coupled with basing for cheer (holding the foot of a flyer [the girls who get lifted up]), coupled with the strain of wrestling may be making things worse. Maybe that isn't coupled. Is it tripled? Doc mentioned to her that it might be time to make choices about which activities she could pursue into adulthood and which she might not be able to, and the possibility that the decision may have to come quite soon. She didn't cry, but I think she wanted to. I did a little for her after I dropped her back at school. The physical therapist called today and I am to call back tomorrow to schedule.

I want to move. I want to go as soon as I can. It is SO time to go. It is time to move on and start fresh and have my family together again. I am not complaining. I am stating a fact. Gotta go and go soon. Listlessness and apathy are setting in.

Kitchen is calling with her dirty dishes and unswept floor. I tired and it cold outside. I want me sweats and fuzzy socks and to watch my favorite TV shows all night on the 'puter.

Not gonna happen, my friends, but I can dream...

Currently listening:MopeBy The Bloodhound GangRelease date: 2000-09-05

Monday, December 8, 2008

Say It or Shut Up

Current mood: apathetic

Interesting the way things work. No matter what I've gone through, human nature still astounds me constantly. That is both good and bad and that's just that.

So, I don't want to get specific. I never know who reads this and who doesn't and I don't want to make some of my peeps uncomfortable. So, I'll be cryptic and vague and beat around the bush and everyone will think me wack and that's just fine and I don't so much care.

A while back I had a life issue which took a bunch of steam and focus to get through. From an entity, from whom I should have heard, I heard nothing. Just the usual crickets and coyote howls. Lucky for me I had plenty of settlers willing to circle the wagons. I got through. We got through. I and we are all stronger now. Yay us.

Now, that entity has contacted me. They seek from me wisdom gleaned during my life issue. Can I help the entity? Hmm, maybe. Then again, maybe not. I don't know. Honestly, I don't. But, this particular issue is of no great mystery on the grand scale. There's bunches of stuff to learn and it is easy to find. So, why me?

Pardon my cynicism, but I've been down this road with the entity before. There are still scars on my ass from getting burned. I sometimes wonder if the entity thinks I am like Windows and that I can be reset to a particular restore point without my knowledge, so I can be used/abused/left for dead until the next time the entity finds use for me.

Well, I overrode the system. I made clear to the Governess (and also HeMan) that a crap I did not give. The Governess agreed that it was the best possible route to take. HeMan told me to keep it to myself. From Yoda, have I learned to myself protect. Protect I shall.

I haven't the energy. I haven't the will to force myself to be nice. And, its truly taken me a lifetime to get to this point, but frankly, I just don't shive a git any farging more.
I, too, have a life. Regardless of whether the entity chooses to acknowledge my life and my shizzle with which I cope and deal and muddle through on a daily basis, life and shizzle continue and I do too. I ain't got the time to write up a dissertation for someone who has no use for me until they find a reason to find a use for me. I used to try and I used to want to but those days are over.

Lemme repeat.

Ooooh-vah!


Currently listening:On My OwnBy Crunchy BlackRelease date: 2006-09-19

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Current mood: Kinda sad

I'm not the biggest fan of gingerbread. Sometimes the flavor is just too overwhelming for me. It is ok if you like it. Sometimes I do too.

After being sick like crazy all last week, and desperately trying to recover now, I'm needing comfort. I've actually taken to baking practically every other night lately. I guess I am trying to compensate. We better sell this house soon or my ass is gonna be HUGE!

Last week I stayed busy baking-before the sick part. Almost all of it was orders I took for Thanksgiving. No, I did not make much money, although I should have because my baked goods were fabulous and beautiful. That helped keep me busy.

Tonight was for me and the kids' breakfast. Of course, I sampled. I also had to substitute a few things because this was not a planned baking event. I made notations.

APPLE GINGERBREAD MUFFINS

2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice (I had none, so I added 1/8 pumpkin pie spice and 1/8 ground cloves- worked just fine!)
1/2 cup mild molasses (had none, used dark corn syrup- worked fine!)
1/4 cup milk
4 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted (just use the butter, it tastes better)
1 large egg
2 medium Golden Delicious or Rome apples peeled and finely chopped (about 2 cups, I only had Granny Smith and they were awesome! I love that they retained some of their crunch even though they were chopped so small)
1/3 cup walnuts, chopped (had pecans)

Preheat oven to 400 and grease 12 muffin cups. In a large bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, salt and allspice. In small bowl, beat together with a fork, molasses, milk, butter, and egg until blended. Add molasses mixture to flour mixture and stir just until flour is moistened (batter will remain lumpy). Gently stir in apples and nuts. Spoon into muffin cups and bake until toothpick inserted comes out clean- about 25 minutes. Remove immediately and serve warm.

Happy fall!

Currently listening : Peanuts: A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving Release date: