Current mood: aggravated
So, what's the freaking deal here, people. We are all, and I do mean all, sick of hearing about my going to the gym and pursuit of smaller thighs. Heck, I am even sick of it. I've been trying to avoid buying any new clothes until much later in the spring or even summer for a number of reasons. But, alas, in Dallas Holly and Kelly told me I might want to strongly consider getting some new jeans. The jeans I was wearing at the time are my favorites. They are Izod (not that big of a deal, but go with me anyway) and they at least used to fit me perfectly. But, at that point, the butt of them was super-baggy, which is what drew all of our attention. When I put them on at the hotel the waist of them was not touching my body. Holly said that I should go two sizes down (I thought she might have fallen and hit her head, but whatever). This is good.
Today my boss called and told me there was no work today, which was fine. I've been neglecting the gym (go ahead, scream) because I haven't been feeling great or energetic and with work, I've had a hard time fitting it in. I changed into workout clothes and noticed my butt looked a little more perky than usual (yay me!). I went to the gym (scream again, if you like) and then decided I wanted to go shopping. The original plan was to go get produce because we are SO out of everything except a head of bok choy and an orange. But, for some reason the truck headed for the mall. I was just there a couple of days ago with Kori. I went to Old Navy. I recalled my checking balance and then lost my mind.
I got some jeans (the same size as the former favorites-which I did because ON pants usually run a little small), this top I noticed a few weeks ago (in three colors) and then I got a few tops for Amanda (cuz 'tis never too soon to start shopping for clothes for effing high school). I didn't try on the jeans at the store because I was pretty confident in the size I got. The price tag for everything was super-reasonable (again, yay me!).
I got home and decided to try on me new stuff before I showered and now I don't know if I am happy or pissed. I got the top on and it looks pretty good. I'll have to see what it looks like with a real bra on instead of my uni-boob pair of sports bras (yes two, to combat jungle-boob because that is worse than the uni-boob), but I think I did pretty good. And, they are one size smaller than what I wore for half of last year.
Then I put on the jeans. I don't do tight jeans any more. I had enough of that crap in school, when we wore our jeans so tight we had to use the corners of wire hangers to make our pockets lay flat and lay down on the bed to zip or button them. See, I am older now and pregnancy has caused the softening of the middle-section and the wearing of tight jeans is conducive to the creation of the snausage look and I ain't having that (we've previously discussed the muffin-top of many women). So, back to these jeans. They fit. They are just about perfect around the waist. They are pretty good around the hips. They are freaking baggy as hell on my butt and my thighs. So, now I pose the question, "Am I just built like a freak?" Oh, but the length is so perfect, which is also hard to accomplish when you are 5'8", the breaking point between regular length and talls.
So, I am in jeans Purgatory. I've worked too hard to have a tight waist on the jeans make me look like I have a big half-deflated fat bag around my middle. And I've worked too hard to have the new and improved butt and thighs swimming around in yards of useless fabric. But, the length is so perfect.
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment