Current mood: uncomfortable
I slept until around 9 on Saturday. I have no idea how I accomplished that bit of good fortune, but I did and I needed it. Of course, once I woke up it was laundry time and cleaning time and all the crap I didn't want to do time. So, I did it. Nolan was feeling horrible with a cold, but he had a wrestling match so I doped him up and we were on our way to the far east side. Like, so far east that we were in Baton Rouge or something.
When we got there, the kids were in rare form. The fought with each other and acted like asses so I put them in check. I had one in tears there and not wanting to compete and one begging me to be be lenient on her, which I was not. I wound up taking two iPods, a phone, computer priveledges and game console rights. Yup, I'm that kinda cow.
Eventually, he did compete. He felt so awful, and I wasn't sure how he would do. He lost his first bout to a kid that cannot possibly be eleven or under. He was huge, and my kid is huge, but this kid was WAY huger. WAY! He did hang in there for a while with him, however. He won his next bout against a kid he's beat before. The boy was crying to his mother before their bout about not wanting to face Nolan. A teeny-tiny part of me kinda sorta felt bad for him, but I don't like his mother because she is rude and she was mean to him, so I got over it quick. A lot of wrestling parents are flat-out mean to their kids about "how" they wrestle or not being motivated. They scream at the kids as if life depended on their performance. I hate that. It can't be my dream. It has to be their dream or not at all. His third bout was against G from TF. He's lost every bout he's had against him, but he's getting closer every time to overcoming his mental block about him. He didn't lose until G got him in a hold and hyperextended Nolan's shoulder. I was very proud of his fourth place finish.
I felt bad for Amanda because this was the third match she had to sit out for the wrist. Her therapist wont release her yet because she hasn't built up enough strength to help her combat the inflamation. She is dying to wrestle again. Secretly, although I do understand how much she wants to compete, I am glad she can't. She is so small that the guys just throw her around and her inexperience totally works against her. Coach D did say something that both disturbed me and cracked me up at the same time. He told me to have her flirt and be girly and stretch in front of them so they pop a woody because then they wont wrestle well. See, funny and disturbing all at once. I think I'll pass on the woody being within a relatively close proximity of my kid, thanks. But I am laughing. Now she's complaining about this thing on he foot hurting her. At first I just thought she was whining, then she made me feel it. There is a marble-sized lump in the ball of her foot. I guess we're going to see a doc again. Joy.
After the tourney we ran to WalMart where all the SuperBowl idiots were on-hand to act as if the absence of ample chicken wings was a sign of the apocolypse. Seriously, people were losing their dang minds. I got a reusable ice pack for the kids' frequent and increasing injuries and some Motrin for the inflamation. It pays to have medics as coaches!
We got home, had chicken Caesar ciabatta sandwiches and I crashed early. The kids stayed up and watched a movie. I don't know why I've been so stinking sleepy.
Today I woke up and did the tax thing. Yay. Not really, but whatever. I am underwhelmed by it all. I got home and cleaned a little and then we delivered fundraising cups for cheer and ran to grab some snacks for the game. Guess what- more dummies were losing their ever-loving minds. I just mosied through and got a pack of chicken wings which were miraculously in-stock and some Sudafed and we came home. I promptly changed into jammies and pulled my hair back and watched the game and did nothing. It was glorious.
And, all I have to say is that James Harrison should really have been thrown out of the game or something. He had an awesome run, but that doesn't allow him to act like an a-hole.
Oh, and one day we will have a dog named Fitzie in honor of Larry Fitzgerald. Thank you very much!
Currently listening:All Star WeekendRelease date: 2003-04-22
Sunday, February 1, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment