Friday, November 16, 2007

I'm Just Not That Aggressive in Bed

Current mood: cold

A cold front blew in yesterday, finally, after 27 months of summer. I can actually say I was cold. I still am. And, although cold is not necessarily the most comfortable thing to be, I am glad that today I am cold.

As has been previously discussed in "Serious Wood," we do not have our heaters on yet. Part of this is because there has been no real need. The other part is that I am one cheap chick and don't want to shell out the $180 to have the heater people come out. I know it is a simple thing to do, but our heaters are older than Darin and Travis always wants them turned on by the pros so they can see if there are any real problems or leaks in the systems. Plus, not having the heaters on yet is saving me of a higher gas bill. I am trying to be a conservationalist here.

So, this morning, it is actually a little uncomfortable in the house from the cold. We might even get a little rain today, so I am going to have to bundle up in a few minutes and go get the cabinet doors, still not completed (see "Owie"), and bring them in to avoid any water damage to their finish. Sheesh.

The kids both complained as to the cold nature of the house and both asked, independently of one another, when the heaters are being turned on. What wusses. One day. One flipping day. Weaklings. But, perhaps the bigger complaint in our house at this point should be that I spent the whole night cold.

Why? Well, I co-habitate with Travis the Cover-Hog. He is also Travis the Sheet-Hog, Travis the Pillow-Hog, and Travis the Incredible Fart Machine. Lucky me. Try not to be jealous. I don't complain much about these "issues" because in 99% of everything else, he really is a good guy. Just don't get him in bed.

When we were first married and while I was pregnant with 1 he was big on stealing my pillow. It was a super old nasty feather pillow that I'd had since I was a kid. It was stinky and icky and mine. Our bed, at that time, was a king sized waterbed, so there was plenty of room. The only pillow I wanted was my "Squooshy" but he would go through every pillow in search of Squooshy. In the mornings I would find a waist-high pile of pillows and him cuddled up with my Squooshy, sleeping like a baby. What an ass.

Right now, we have a sheet, two quilts my mothe rmade and a HUGE comforter on the bed. When I went to sleep, the covers were evenly distributed between the two of us on our respective sides of the bed. Acutally, we both share the middle because we are big time spooners when we sleep. But, the covers were good. Just an hour later I awakened to my shoulders being cold. There were no covers on them. I am a freak when it comes to sleeping. My feet and my shoulders, regardless of ambient room temperature, must be covered by at least a sheet. So, I was cold and pissed off.

Once I had finally wrangled my sheet back for my shoulders I was exhausted and fell right back asleep. Less than an hour later I was up again. This time all the covers were off me, except for my shoulders, which were happily sheeted. I went through this process several times including the falling asleep and waking up before I finally gave up. I just burrowed as deeply as I could under Travis' side to steal body heat from him and hoped I would eventually pass out from being so tired. I was right.

Travis' alarm went off this morning and I heard him getting things together for work. I ignored him. It was easy to do. I also reclaimed all the covers. Actually, he covered me when he got out of bed. I think he thinks I don't know how he steals my covers and makes me cold and that he thinks if he covers me when he gets up that I will never know that he did indeed steal the covers all night resulting in frostbite on my ass.

No comments: