Current mood: crappy
All I wanted to do tonight, once the kids were done telling me about their first day of school, and cleaning the kitchen and starting on odds and ends for lunches tomorrow, was to sit and watch tonight's coverage of the DNC. I started the DVR recording shortly after 9:00, thinking (like a stupid idiot) that my wonderful children whose 8:40 bedtime was so generously (on my part) extended to 9:00 would just be quiet and let me watch. Yeah, good thing the DVR has a pause button, huh?
Ted Kennedy took the stage first and I must say, even thought I have never liked any of his doings, he looked extremely well. He's been through a medical hell. I'm not familiar with his type of cancer, but I know that radiation sucks. Chemo really sucks. Brain surgery? Pretty sure that one pegs out on the suckometer as well. Good for him and better for his family that he is pushing so hard against the odds he faces.
I really hate watching the conventions. I always have. I watch, when I watch, not to so much hear the speeches, but rather to pick up on the candidates' and their spouses' subliminals and body language. I like to hear their inflection and intonation. I want to learn what makes them who they are and watching a speech, as opposed to listening to one, helps me figure people out. I the necessity of political conventions as a platform to announce a candidate is somewhat outdated with the forms of media currently available, but they do serve my purpose for viewing well.
I've watched Michelle Obama in interviews and on the View and I just haven't liked her. Tonight didn't change my mind. I can't really pinpoint what the problem is. And that aggrivates me most.
Her speech was a good one. She delivered it extremely well. I am not naive enough to believe she was 100% responsible for all the verbage. The campaigns do have people to take care of that kind of thing, but if anyone was capable of writing that colorful a speech, it would most likely be her. Her training in all things law have given her a strong abilty to speak well on a grand scale.
I, along with countless others, represent just the people she spoke of in her speech. My father was also a blue-collar worker. Many times he would leave for work by 3 or 3:30 in the morning and when there was lots of overtime available, he would take it and not be home until well after dark. My mother stayed home until I was in the sixth grade. She worked at Motorola after that and until she retired. That was hardly a light-duty job. On those days when my father was home at a reasonable time, he would spend hour after hour on the phone. He held various positions in Arizona Pop Warner Football and later in Arizona Youth Football, the last of which was Federation Commissioner for many years. Every moment on the phone or at the Federation office was done out of love. And all of his work was volunteered. My mother helped with my Girl Scout troops, carpooling, she took me to softball practice and made sure that whenever I was participating in some event, that she was there. I knew my parents worked hard. I knew how important everything they did truly was, so I understand what Michelle Obama said about community and personal involvement.
And, I am one of the many military families she referenced. I've done that. I've been there. Just a bit of advice to everyone who uses the sense of "military pride" to force their agenda- Stop it. You piss us off. Incredibly. Yes, we are here and we appreciate those who appreciate us and our spouses. We hope people are inspired by our sacrifice. We are strong. And if you haven't lived it you will never fully understand. Please, musicians and politicians and retail entities and everyone else, do show your appreciation but don't use our lifestyle to further your position in any capacity. Simply tell us, "Thank you," in word and deed.
Somehow I just can't help but think that her speech was so very contrived and even though she really worked hard to make it look natural and conversational, parts of it just seemed so saccharine. I was disappointed. I wanted to be wrong about her. I wanted to see in her something genuine. She gave a stellar effort to the task but I took next to nothing from her words.
I hate when the parties (both of them) use the minor children of the candidates or elderly parents of the families to show the softer side of the candidate or their spouse. It just annoys me. It annoys me the same way that I am annoyed when sappy movies try to force the viewer to feel something. It feels like the parties are trying desperately to push the candidates' "organic-ness" down our throats.
I can't help but believe there is nothing organic about the faces painted on these candidates. I am also not stupid enough to think that this is an epidemic of our modern era. It all just bugs the crap out of me.
I do think the Obama kids are way cute, though.
I am sure I wont be any more pleased when the Republicans take the stage next week. I do already like Cindy McCain, even though she has had some serious personal issues. Perhaps those issues are why I like her. I don't know.
And no, I know I wont be voting for the candidates' wives. And I wont make my voting decisions based on what I think of them.
I'm just sayin'...
Currently listening : Shut Up By Black Eyed Peas Release date: 2003-12-09
Monday, August 25, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment