Sunday, November 23, 2008

Ironman

He made it! 14:36!!!

Grit

Current mood: Joyful

This morning, in Tempe, Arizona, gazillions (I guess) of athletes converged for the running of the Ironman Arizona. This is a full Iron-distance triathlon. 2.5 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run. Yes, all of that. And, here's the catch- the race starts at 7 am (for age groupers) and must be completed by midnight.

Cody Hanson, my nephew, has been chasing his Ironman dreams for five and a half years. When he began following triathlon, he weighed in somewhere around 300 pounds. Yes, he's a big guy. He's a corrections officer at the New Mexico State Pen in Santa Fe. He's worked with the worst our world has to offer and yet somehow, he is a light-hearted, fun, childlike, man's man. He played football. He is a martial arts expert. He's wrestled. He was on the SWAT team. So, umm, yeah, he's done a lot. He's also competed in two other Ironman races. He was unable to meet the time requirements set up along the route at those races and was pulled from the course (as is the rule when a competetor has not met time standards along the route). Last year, when he raced in Nevada, he was pulled off during the bike portion of the race and was devastated.

The last year has brought tons of transition to him. He began to slim down (way, way down) after his DNF in Nevada. He got as low as 188 pounds. It was around that time when Bob, his step-father (and yet very much, his Dad), died. The loss was awful for him. This was a father who chose him. My sister had health scares and all the while, he continued working, racing and taking care of his wife and his kids. He doesn't weight 188 any more. And I hope he realizes that number isn't near as important to the rest of us as it is to him. I can't imagine what a roller coaster the last twelve months have been for him.

He had high hopes for today. He and Cindy headed out to Arizona, along with some close friends, Thursday. Both Friday and Saturday there were events relating to the race. Last night, they invited my mother to have dinner with them, their friends, and Cody's triathlon coach. Mom said she had a wonderful time with them all. I know it meant the world to Cody too.
I've been tracking him today in between my day's insanity (which I will blog about later). He made it through the swim. He swam two and a half miles. And, after he was finished with that, he changed what clothing he needed to change, hopped on a bike and decided he STILL wanted to ride it for 112 miles. And he made it all the way through the bike course. And when he did, he decided once again, he wanted to do something hard. He wanted, after all that, to put on running shoes and a different pair of socks (because the socks you bike in and the socks you run in are apparently quite different), to resist the urge to take a break, and to run. For 26.2 miles.

He's running now. As I type, he is running. His tracker online says he is in the second segment of the run. I can't check often enough. I keep coming back to the computer every five minutes to track him. He has already completed the 3.5 mile segment. I am in awe.

When he finishes tonight, and I believe he will, he will cross the finish line with hoards of people there clapping and cheering for him. At that moment, all the hooplah will be about him. Because he made it.

I have no aspirations to run even the shortest triathlon. I don't want chapped nipples (sorry, fact of life for runners), I like having my toenails stay on my feet, I do not want to bonk out on a segment, suffer countless hours of training, spend unknown amounts (yes, someone knows, but not me) of cash on equipment and training and supplements and everything else, and I have no desire to cross THAT finish line.

But, from Cody I have learned. Sometimes, there are some things in this world which are worth the pursuit. Pain, injuries, self-doubt and other things of that ilk simply must be overcome.
He could have quit. He could have said, somewhere along the line, "I am done." And absolutely every one of his friends and family (at least those of us who do not race) would have understood. But, for Cody, the elusive became his target.

He took aim again today.


I encourage you to track him with me. www.ironmanlive.com

Click on the "track an athlete" link and then type in the last name Hanson. You will see his times there. He wont mind you visiting him online.

I am very proud of Cody today. I am very proud of Cody every day, but today, even moreso.

I love you, Cody!

Currently listening : Iron Man Release date: 2008

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Big Bird and Whorin' Around

Yes, they do go together. Read on...

We've all, by this point, read about the pothead boy, right? Well, Miss Smarty Pants, aka my daughter, thought she was two things: smart enough to change his ways and smart enough to get away with something she clearly understood she was not supposed to do. And, drumroll please, she got caught and she did not change his ways. He had told her about his use of pot and that it was his first time using it. He also told her he wanted her to be his, a-hem, first. Yup, you read right.

I told her not only was his experience with pot and Chronic likely to have not been his first go 'round with doobage, that there was a very healthy chance that were she to be one of his conquests, it would likely not be his first. Dunno, something just told me so.

Anyway, she decided to go out with him believing she would get away with it. She did not. Therefore, she was grounded for six weeks and she had to break up with him. We told her she could still talk to him at school and be his friend but that she could never spend time with him outside school because it was obvious that the two of them had damaged the parent/child trust code. She did break up with him.

Upon the breakup, her very best pal at school, whom I will not call a mean name, mentioned to Amanda that she liked the pothead. She is also a cheerleader and is in the same French class as Amanda and the pothead. Amanda told her, "Please don't go out with him, that would be hard for me if you did." Guess where this is going- BINGO! She started seeing the boy right after Amanda broke it off with him. They snuck around for a while but Amanda caught on and confronted Pal and told her not to lie in addition to hurting her feelings, just to tell the truth. So, Pal came clean and fessed up. Amanda got over it and remained friends with the boy. They would text and would talk at school, but nothing more. Pal started to freak out telling Amanda she better stay away from him and even going so far as to call Amanda a whore when she mentioned that a different boy was looking at her. She yelled across a courtyard that Amanda was a whore and a bitch. And Amanda forgave. She also told Pal that she had no control over her friendships with other people and she would continue to talk to whomever she chose. Pal continued to be jealous and immature.

About a week, or maybe a little longer, after the two got together, there was a Varsity game at the school the JV squad did not cheer at (the last Friday in Oct. which was not Halloween). Amanda was still grounded from social activities and I told her that she would have to sit with me at the game (because I like going to the games too). She reluctantly agreed, but I wound up sending her and coming later because Nolan had a conflicting football practice. As soon as it was over, we got to the high school. When we got there, things seemed strange but I kept it to myself. The most obvious thing is that Amanda was not with the best friend, Pal. When I asked where she was, Amanda said she didn't know. We had fun anyway, me, Nolan, Amanda and a couple of her other friends who weren't mortified to be seen in my presence.

The following Monday (I found this out last week) Pal told Amanda that she and Pothead had sex at the baseball field during the football game. Even better- unprotected sex. Amanda freaked out on both of them and told him she would slap him if he ever had unprotected sex with her or anyone else again. Then Amanda went on a condom-finding expedition amongst her friends so Pal would have the neccessary supplies. She also hid all of this from me.

Three days after that, Pothead and Amanda were talking and he told her he wanted to break up with Pal because things had changed between them. Amanda said to him, "Yeah, funny how sex changes things, huh?" He agreed and then they split up a couple of days after that.

Then there was a JV game at which the ladies cheered. Pal was distraught and gloomy (as is her normal response when the world is not starstruck by her) during the whole game, and on the verge of tears. Pal's psycho mohter (yes, I knew she was long before this event) went up to the girls as they were leaving the track that night and shook her finger in the faces of the girls and told them, "You all had better figure out what is going on with Pal because I went through all this with her over the summer when Abe broke up with her and I am not going through it again." The girls all kind of looked at each other and went about their business. Again, I was not privvy to the intel.

I guess everything got better for a couple of days, except that Pal was still being bossy to Amanda, telling her she better lay off and not talk to him because she was acting like a whore and he wasn't her boyfriend and didn't want her (remember, Amanda went out with him first) and she would back off if she knew what was good for her. Amanda still talked to him. Pal and she, however, did not remain quite as friendly.

Then, Pal thought she was pregnant. Ah, isn't that fun? And, even though the waters between them were rough at the time, Amanda told her that she would remain her friend and stand by her side if she were. Then she was going to get her a pregnancy test at the nurse's office. Pal chickened out of that one, but still, that is what my kid was willing to do for her.

Pal, after that, then began to continue calling Amanda a whore and a bitch. She said Amanda was fat (which really pisses me off, especially since Twiggy would look fat next to the 5'10" 103 pound Pal). She said she was a crappy cheerleader. She said she was a liar. She said she was a horrible friend and that she was stupid (interesting since Amanda is one of the only six cheerleaders to maintain academic eligibility throughout the semester, but not Pal). She said it all to anyone that would listen. She talked about Amanda behind her back to everyone, including the rest of the cheer team. And Amanda, after those things being said, told her that she would help her all she could if she were pregnant.

Then Pal started, thankfully. She texted Amanda to tell her.

Then, a week and a half ago I started to notice that things weren't right with Amanda. I let it go and figured it was all just teenage angst. Yeah, it was.

So, last Friday I saw that Pal was avoiding Amanda like the plauge. So, I asked what was up and she told me all the sorted details. I had to do some serious work trying to restore her spirit, but she really was fine, without knowing it. She realized that most of the team thought what Pal had said was all crap. Yay, small victory for my kid!

I told her that she needed to take it to the cheer coach because it would affect the team dynamic. So, she did. She was very calm and poised and maintained her emotions quite well and said what she needed to to the coach. I was there and saw it. Then, I told the coach about the sex buisness. Maybe I shouldn't have, but my hands were bound. It was my hope that someone would tell Psycho Mom so she could get her the health services she needed. I wasn't ratting her out. I wasn't tattling. It was all out of concern and there was no way I could tell her mother without her flipping out on me.

Then, I found out that a week ago, at Parent-Teacher night at the school, Pal and Psycho Mom saw the Tomster (the ex-boyfriend who is now like her big brother/best friend) and confronted him. His mother told me this. They demanded to know what Amanda had said about Pal. He told them that she hadn't said anything except that Pal and she were fighting. Then Pal and Psycho Mom told the Tomster that Amanda was only using him for chips (because he always has a bag of chips in his backpack) and gum and that she was a dirty liar and not to be trusted and that he should never believe a thing Amanda says about anyone. Psycho Mom stuck her finger in his face and shook it at him and told him to not be Amanda's friend.

Last night there were basketball games starting at 4. Nolan and I went at about 5:30 and I brought him home at 7:15 to get ready for bed. He can handle that on his own so I ran back up to the school to watch Amanda finish out the night. When we were shuffling back and forth between the two gymnasiums I ran into Pal. I made eye contact with her and said, "Hi." She bowed her head and said it back and practically ran away.

When the girls were cheering their last game, Pal had no idea where I was. I was sitting in the stands right in front of Amanda and Pal. Pal had her new cohort next to her as well and she buddied up to her throughout the game. She was also trying to flirt with every guy there. There were two boys in front of me who were making fun of her. They were calling her Big Bird. They were taking cell phone pictures of my daughter. I was laughing on the inside because in a very sick way, it was incredibly satisfying. When we got home, Amanda told me that Pal was all excited about them looking at her and thought they wanted her. I told her what the boys were doing and she smiled and went to bed.

Some kids will always come out on top.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Egg Free and Loving It

Current mood: busy

OK, word is there's a cookie exchange in the works. I would host this year, but if you've followed the blog, you know that isn't likely to happen around my place. True to every year, before I even know the date of the cookie exchange, I'm hammering out my recipes.

Today I wanted to make something simple because I got started late and am running low on baking staples like eggs and vanilla. I know Albertson's has some baking items on ad, but not eggs. Two weeks ago they were a dollar a dozen and I didn't stock up. Alas, not an egg in the joint.

I Googled simple cookie recipes and came up with this one.

Simple Shortbread

3/4 cup all purpose flour, sifted
1/4 cup superfine sugar (didn't have any super-fine so I sifted that too)
1/2 cup unsalted butter (good quality), at room temperature
pinch salt (I omitted because I had no sweet butter)

Combine flour and sugar until well blended, then using pastry cutter or two knives, cut butter into dry ingredients until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Turn the dough out onto a floured board and knead until smooth, then cover and refrigerate at least two hours or overnight. Once chilled, divide the dough into four portions for large cookies or eight for smaller cookies and form into rounds. Place the rounds on a baking sheet and press them down with the bottom of a glass to about 1/4 inch thickness, then prick with fork tines. Bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes until lightly browned. Allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet.

As you see, this is a small-batch recipe, which is perfect when it is just the kids and I, but I am sure this will double or triple well. Can you imagine how awesome this would be with chocolate drizzled over and sprinkled with some finely chopped walnuts or pecans?

My dough is chilling now and will be baked soon, if it makes it that far. Since it has no eggs, it is safe to eat the raw dough! Woo-hoo!

Currently listening : Talk Is Cheap / Short Stuff By Short Stuff

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Purdy Good

Current mood: cantankerous
OK, since things have been tight lately I decided that instead of buying pizza, I would make it for the kids last night. I had some leftover spaghetti sauce from a month or so ago in the freezer, so that was the base of one. On that I put some sliced red onion, mushrooms, olives and a few spinach leaves. It was good, but the other one was fantastic!

BBQ Chicken Pizza
1 pouch pizza dough mix (it was .44 at WalMart for the store brand)
Your favorite barbeque sauce, about 3/4 cup or so, more or less based on what you like
1 large chicken breast (cooked- I had just boiiled chicken for dog food for the week, so I just grabbed one of those and diced it up)
Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
French fried onions

Prepare and bake the pizza crust for about half the time recommended on the directions (I use a little corn meal under the crust to keep it from sticking and for texture), pull it out and spread with barbeque sauce (try to keep it under a cup because too much sauce will make the crust mushy). Layer on the cubed cooked chicken and top that with cheese. Then top the entire pizza with French fried onions and return to bake until the crust is done.

Overall, chopping, defrosting, mixing the two crusts and everything, we had two awesome pizzas in about a half an hour. My overall cost was way less than $10. No more bought pizza for a while, now that I know how cheap I can make it!

Currently listening : That's Amore: Italian American Favorites By Various Artists Release date: 2008-09-30

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Updating

Current mood: bummed

1) I still own a house, much to my chagrin.

2) I spent somewhere in the neighborhood of $1200 on my truck. Then I went somewhere else to have the alternator done. It did need doing. It also needed a bunch more. It cost me $1205.98.

3) Next week I will return for the rest of the work my truck needs. Part of it ($400) is paid for already. The rest of the work will cost me $1010.

4) My vacuum cleaner broke. The very vacuum my husband repaired when he was home in September.

5) I have a house on the market which needs vacuuming regularly. God bless Kori. I've been driving a mile and half to her house to pick up her vacuum, vacuuming my house, then driving a mile and a half back to drop the vacuum off. Sure, I could buy a new one. That would mean I had some type of cash flow working, here (see s 2 and 3 above).

6) I have lost two of my three contracts in the last three weeks.

7) I figured out to turn on one of my heaters today. I don't like doing stuff like that.

8) I still need to turn on the other heater. I know how to light that one because the guy who put the new heater in a year ago made me learn because, "No woman should not know how to light her own furnace, just in case." I don't like doing stuff like that.

9) I needed to turn off my two coolers today because I turned on one of the heaters. I hate doing stuff like that.

10) I got the dampers for the vents for the coolers, the new cooler covers and the duct tape to secure the covers on the coolers and went outside. I hate doing stuff like I was about to do.

11) I went to grab the ladder. The ladder was gone. Some stupid crack-head stole my freaking ladder. People suck. Keith said he stole it. I should kick Keith's ass some day.

12) The ladder was actually not mine. I bought it for Travis as a flirty gift. Someone stole Travis'/my ladder. If it was Keith, he better hope he can outrun me, just as soon as I figure out where he lives... in Glendale.

13) How sad is it that I bought a ladder as a flirty gift for Travis?

14) The dude who wanted to see the house last weekend never showed. Bummer. My house is still for sale.

15) Someone is supposed to come see the house this weekend. That's good because it will likely still be for sale at that point.

16) My checking account is looking anorexic these days.

17) Travis' place is freezing. Literally, his house is like 55 inside. He could run the heat all day while he is at work for 14-16 hours, but that doesn't seem eco-friendly.

18) It also doesn't seem checkbook friendly.

19) Dr. Erica Hahn is no longer going to be on Grey's, and although I was kinda thrown by the girl on girl action, I was intrigued by the storyline. Bummer.

20) Nolan's closet door broke Sunday. It is dry-rotted inside. It looks like toothpics. It. fell. completely. off.

21) I am just tired.

22) Amanda cut off all her hair again. Even shorter.

23) The school had nothing better to do today, a teacher work day and early release day, than to call me five minutes before the bell rang to tell me my kid stuck an orange seed in some kid's ear and now has a referral and detention for two days.

24) Yes, an orange seed.

25) Stop laughing, a-hole.

Fun, huh?

Currently listening : Lie Low By New Flash Release date: 2002-08-26

Monday, November 10, 2008

Yummylicious

Current mood: listless

QUICK SWEET CINNAMON BREAD

.. -->-->.. -->QUICK SWEET CINNAMON BREAD-->
2 c. all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 c. sugar
2 lg. eggs, beaten
1 c. buttermilk
1/3 c. vegetable oil
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 tsp. butter, softened

Combine first 5 ingredients in a mixing bowl. Combine eggs and next 3 ingredients; add to dry ingredients. Beat at medium speed with electric mixer 3 minutes.

Grease bottom of a 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf pan. Combine 2 tablespoons sugar, cinnamon and butter in a small bowl until crumbly. Spoon evenly over batter and top with remaining batter. Gently swirl batter with a knife to create a marble effect. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from pan and completely cool on wire rack...

Totally yummy. We've had a cold snap lately and nothing says warm like baking. This one is awesome and so easy! Make sure when you make this you put half the batter in the pan and then the crumbled butter mixture and then top that with the rest of the batter. I missed that part, but I did the rest so some of the mix was swirled in the batter. Still, this is just about the easiest, cheapest and best cinnamon bread I've made. Oh, I also didn't have any buttermilk, so I subbed 3/4 cup of sour cream and 1/4 cup skim milk. I sift my dry ingredients and I thouroughly beat all the liquids together before I mixed them into the dry and made sure to mix by hand. Happy baking!

Currently listening : Cinnamon / This Is My Story By Derek

Friday, November 7, 2008

I'm Not Sleeping

Current mood: drained

I've said that for the last eight months and meant it every time. Tonight I'm not even trying. There's too much stuff on my bed for me to try. I've got the washer and dryer going. The dishwasher is on. There's a sink of dishes in hot water that's too hot for me to put my hands in. My lungs are being burned by the bleach fumes wafting from the bathroom showers. I am light-headed from the Carpet Fresh which I have liberally sprinkled from room to room. I have ass-loads of stuff on the dining room table- packing. I need to fix a spot on the wall in the kids' bathroom with spackle and paint, but I can't- lung burning fumes. Craig Furgeson is on TV right now and I've not lifted my head once, and he's my FAVORITE!!! I've got a laundry room in need of organizing and sweeping. My vacuum cleaner needs to be cleaned out but it is too freaking cold to go outside right now to empty it in the big dumpster. By the way, it is too freaking cold in the house right now too because just like always, El Paso's weather was bee-you-tea-ful and we went to sleep and the next morning Jack Frost completely skipped the nipping at the nose part and just kicked my ass.

Yes, the responsible person with a house on the market would just keep her house in show-order at all times. Whatevah. Kids, dogs, work, stuff, living, all that and more kinda get in the way of spot-checking every fifteen minutes for a stray dust-mite. Plus, news flash, no one's been looking at anything, anywhere.

Now someone is coming tomorrow. I don't know if it is a couple or a single guy, just that at least one of the parties is a guy. I just hope he or they see something in this house the way we did. I don't care if he/they want it to be their forever house. I would be elated if he/they made it their right now house. That's what we did, but right now ended eight months ago and I gotta hit the road soon.

A lot of my friends who read my blog don't believe what I believe, and that's for you to decide. I pretty much adore everyone here and hope the feeling's the same on your end. But I'm going to talk here about stuff you might not agree with and that's for me to decide.

I've really struggled lately moreso than I ever have with trying to hold myself together. Things just don't seem to make sense with me here and Travis there and a long road in between for no other reason than I wanted to give my kid a chance to experience something wonderful. That's it. Sure, there were Realtors with their forecasts (which all failed to come true) which did carry some weight in the decision, but it was for the kid. We've gone through separations before. A lot of them. I've never once complained about that. I've mentioned being lonely. I've mentioned wishing he were here to fix things and the longing I've felt with him not home, but this is just asinine. I can't argue with a deployment or hardship. They just are and that's that. This was a choice I spearheaded. During deployments there are always the FRG gals (which have ALL moved away [jealous, jealous me]) who are going through exactly the same thing as me with the same deployment and all. Right now I have Kori and Kelly, and they do rock. There are others too, and I'm truly glad for all of them meaning something special to me. But, I ache right now like I've never known before.

Financially, we are more than strapped right now. The same thing which has happened to so many others is happening to us. Sure, we knew that we might be overextending ourselves, but we thought we had it. We were in great shape before he left. Two households and a tanking economy have sucked for us. It is hard to be excited about much when you know there is so much looming around you. If things do go our way soon, we'll be in great shape. Hoping, hoping.

It is great to have a plan. I have a plan and a timeline, aren't I lucky? I thought I knew exactly what was going to transpire in my little corner of the world between March and December. Now I know that I am just a moron. I just hope we can get out of here before the Army wont pay to move our house. That would be March.

I just don't have it in me anymore. I've handed it all over before. I've handed it all over now too. I've been handing for a while now. I know God hears all prayers. I've had prayers answered- you know, cancer and all. Truly. And still, I sometimes wonder if God knows I need Him, if He's heard my pleas and seen the tears, and if His plan for me is the same as mine. As long as God's plan has Travis and I with the kids all in one house here in the next little while, I'm good. I know He will work on His own timeline and that things will work out the way He wants them to, so no one has to remind me. I have to remind me. It doesn't do much good for someone else to do that for me. Like most of us, I'm burning up the prayer hotline when things aren't too much going my way. My current situation is no exception. Today I opened an email response from my Craigs List posting on the house. I emailed and then called my Realtor. After I talked to Gina, without even thinking, I hit my knees. Right there in the spare room, as soon as I ended the call, I prayed. I thanked God for the guy that's coming. I told God that I knew He had His plan for us and that I would be patient, as much as I could, until we knew.

God knows that I can't even tie my shoes these days without tearing up a little because running shoes remind me of runners and runners remind me of triathlons which remind me of Travis. I find myself daydreaming about what my life is going to be like when we are all living in one house again. Doing so just makes me feel like I am some stupid teenager with stars in her eyes over some dude from school.

So, God, you know. And that's OK. This is yours now and I will do what I am able. I just can't wait to make him something stupid like spaghetti and fall asleep, drooling, on his leg while we watch a move.

*Dear God, please let me drool on Travis' leg soon. Amen.

Currently listening : Here Without You By 3 Doors Down Release date: 2004-04-13

Quick and Frenzied

Current mood: frenzied

Even though our home is now listed at just slightly over $50 a square foot, we've only actually had one couple see it. That has had me losing my mind since September 13. Out of desperation, I visited Craigs List and listed the house there. Praise be! A guy wants to see it tomorrow. Praise be! Because it is not today, because Phoenix got sick last night for the first time in forever in her bed and I am washing dog beds like crazy. I have bathed her, brushed her once (she needs it two or three more times), rearranged my entire bedroom and cleaned it (but it still needs more), done umpteen loads of laundry, and am now sufficiently losing my mind in an entirely different manner at this point. Kori has agreed to let me take the pooches to her house tomorrow so they'll have someplace to chill while the house is shown (thanks, Kori). Amanda has been sufficiently warned that any and all free time between getting home and leaving for cheer at the varsity game tonight will be spent in constructive home maintennance and cleaning. The endorphins have arrived. Clean it shall be. Smelling lovely it shall be. Uncluttered it shall be.
Please let this be the buyer.

Currently listening : Cool Bananas: Best of Frenzy By Frenzy Release date: 2004-04-05