Wednesday, January 9, 2008

I'm a Whiner

I am trying to figure out if I am just a big whiney butt or what.

Today was just one of those days. I had a business meeting with the Youth Symphony biz team today. It was supposed to be lunch, but for some reason we just never quite got to lunch. I don't know how much we actually accomplished either, but I think we know where we all stand at this point. Hopefully the business end can push the artistic end and vise versa so the culminative efforts will catapult the group. I don't know how much go-juice I got for this with everything else going on, but I'm in it with all I got for the time being. Goals are great, but you have to have a road map sometimes too.

I had a serious headache by the time I got to Geronimo on the interstate, so I pulled off and grabbed a bite. It nearly made me sick. I think the problem was that I just went WAY too long without eating and I've been really trying to eat smart, eat regularly and get all my dietary supplements (which must be taken with a meal) in because when I do and I work out properly, I feel so much better. That just wasn't going to happen today. Greasy, large serving, stress, add it all up and its icky time!

I got home at 2:15. I opened the front door and smelled it. Phoenix sometimes has a hard time holding her potty (remember, she's 13 and in dog years she's whatever she is), so I've become a pro at cleaning a large dog kennel with speed and ease. I changed and started taking care of her pillow and the smell was just as bad. While I was starting to clean the box itself, I glanced at Annabelle's kennel and there was some in there too. I threw her pillow in the washer (God bless the large-capacity) and took her box apart too. The smell was still there. I looked into Penelope's bed and there was even more of it! Holy... well, you get the idea. So, following my trend, threw her bedding in the washer and took hers apart too. Now, what the heck did the three of them get into on the same day at the same time?

As I was cleaning, I stopped twice. The first time I went to school when the bell rang to pick him up, but then remembered that he was going to stay for band practice. The second time was 45 minutes later when I went to pick him up from practice and he asked if he could walk home with his buddy. I was already at school, but it was worth it for him to spend some time with a friend. But, twice I was pulled away from stink-duty. I then got the family and dining rooms vacuumed and the hallways, did the dishes, dried the jeans and straightened the family room.

I finished cleaning the last step of the kennels and stacked them all to dry in my shower while I took the kids to the gym for wrestling. I also took the boyfriend's younger brothers to wrestling to help out the parents, 'cuz the big brubber had a basketball game and the Dad is getting ready to Soldier-up. They're good guys, I like them. I would like to think they had a decent time with us.

I called home and checked with the husband to see if he wanted some kind of takeout for dinner. He agreed, I told him to relax and that I would pick something up on the way. Once practice was finally over I grabbed the three boys and the girl and we ran to the tourney weigh-in at the park on the way to our 'hood. That was not as horrible and disorganized as many of them are, but it took a little time. I called the boys' madre and told her I would drop them off at their house.

After I did, I ran to our house. Originally I was going to drop the kids and grab food, but I decided to save myself a little time and gas and just order a pizza. I did, it came, it was good and I had no dishes (Hallelujah!).

But, here's where the whine comes in. When I sat down with my plate in the family room with everyone I was so pooped out. All I could think of was that I was so friggin' tired and all I wanted was for someone to make me a Diet Coke. I guess I could have asked someone to do it, but I didn't want to bug them because then I would get "the" face and "the" sigh, but I didn't ask.

I just wanted a Diet Coke.

No comments: